The Think Tank foraus advocates a constructive foreign policy and an informative dialogue: independent, scientific, relevant. Through our platform, we offer young talents voluntary access to the discourse, where they can contribute with their ideas to foreign policy – outside the traditional framework of political parties. foraus publishes scientific-based policy recommendations in the form of discussion papers, policy briefs and blog posts, as well as organizes high-level debates with the aim of creating innovative solutions for foreign policy.

The success of the think tank is based on a unique grassroots model with over 120 volunteers who are committed to foraus and share a common goal: to contribute actively to Swiss foreign policy.

The Think Tank foraus distinguishes itself with its participatory model to which collective intelligence is central. The involvement and participation in foraus is open to everyone, with an emphasis on having a diverse network. With the Policy Kitchen innovation platform, foreign policy is also now digitally accessible to all, regardless of their location. The platform is intended to encourage interested individuals in developing concrete proposals for solutions to foreign policy challenges and thus be engaged in society.

foraus is part of the Open Think Tank Network (OpenTTN). The OpenTTN promotes the foundation and development of grassroots think tanks around the world, as well as the cooperation of the network in terms of content. The OpenTTN was created in 2016 out of the “foraus global” initiative, which was founded by foraus.

 

foraus was founded in 2009. It is a tax-free organization and is based on a membership system consisting of several hundred members. Within the last 10 years, foraus has evolved into the Swiss foreign policy think tank, with over a dozen employees. 

Annual Reports

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Whether you want an overview of all foraus activities or a summary of the most relevant and exciting news articles on foreign policy – our newsletter keeps you informed!

Subscribe

Become a Member

Support your Swiss foreign policy think tank and enjoy the unique advantages and the access to a top-class foreign policy network – national and international!

Register

Donate

In order to continue shaping tomorrow’s foreign policy, we need your help! To strengthen the platform that enables young talents to bring their visions and ideas to foreign policy.

More

Der Think Tank foraus setzt sich für eine konstruktive Aussenpolitik sowie für einen informierten Dialog ein: unabhängig, wissenschaftlich, relevant. Mit unserer Plattform bieten wir jungen Talenten einen gemeinnützigen Zugang zur Debatte, um ihre Ideen in die Aussenpolitik einzubringen – ausserhalb des traditionellen Rahmens von Parteipolitik. foraus publiziert wissenschaftlich fundierte Handlungsempfehlungen in Form von Diskussionspapieren, Kurzanalysen sowie Blogposts und veranstaltet hochkarätige Debatten mit dem Ziel, innovative Lösungen für die Aussenpolitik zu schaffen.


Der Erfolg des Think Tanks basiert auf einem einzigartigen Grassroots-Modell mit über 120 Ehrenamtlichen, die sich bei foraus engagieren und ein gemeinsames Ziel haben: die Schweizer Aussenpolitik konstruktiv mitzuprägen. Das Freiwilligennetzwerk ist in 11 thematische Gruppen sowie 9 lokale Regiogruppen gegliedert, welche inhaltlich arbeiten und Veranstaltungen zu aussenpolitischen Herausforderungen organisieren. Zwei Geschäftsstellen in Zürich und Genf unterstützen dieses Netzwerk.

Der Think Tank foraus zeichnet sich durch sein partizipatives Modell aus, bei welchen die kollektive Intelligenz im Zentrum steht. Das Mitdenken und Mitmachen bei foraus steht jeder und jedem offen, wobei Wert auf ein möglichst diverses Netzwerk gelegt wird. Mit der Innovationsplattform Policy Kitchen wird Aussenpolitik nun auch digital – und somit ortsunabhängig – für alle zugänglich. Die Plattform soll Interessierte dazu anregen, konkrete Lösungsvorschläge für aussenpolitische Herausforderungen auszuarbeiten und sich so für die Gesellschaft zu engagieren.

foraus ist Teil des Open Think Tank Networks (OpenTTN). Das OpenTTN fördert die Gründung und Entwicklung von Grassroots-Think Tanks rund um den Globus, sowie die inhaltliche Zusammenarbeit des Netzwerkes. Das OpenTTN entstand 2016 aus einer von foraus gegründeten Initiative «foraus global».

foraus wurde im Jahr 2009 gegründet, ist steuerbefreit und basiert auf einem Mitgliedersystem mit mehreren hundert Mitgliedern. Innerhalb der letzten 10 Jahre entwickelte sich foraus zu dem aussenpolitischen Think Tank der Schweiz, mit gut einem Dutzend Mitarbeitenden.

Abonniere unsere Newsletter

Ob eine Übersicht über alle foraus-Aktivitäten oder die relevantesten und spannendsten Zeitungsartikel zu aussenpolitischen Themen zusammengefasst – mit unseren Newsletter bleibst du informiert!

Anmelden

Werde Mitglied

Unterstütze den Schweizer Think Tank zur Aussenpolitik und geniesse einzigartige Vorteile sowie Zugang zu einem hochkarätigen Netzwerk in der Aussenpolitik – national und international!

Anmelden

Spenden

Damit wir weiterhin die Aussenpolitik von morgen gestalten können, brauchen wir deine Hilfe! Stärke die Plattform, die es jungen Talenten ermöglicht, ihre Visionen und Ideen in die Aussenpolitik einzubringen.

Mehr