The Think Tank foraus advocates a constructive foreign policy and an informative dialogue: independent, scientific, relevant. Through our platform, we offer young talents voluntary access to the discourse, where they can contribute with their ideas to foreign policy – outside the traditional framework of political parties. foraus publishes scientific-based policy recommendations in the form of discussion papers, policy briefs and blog posts, as well as organizes high-level debates with the aim of creating innovative solutions for foreign policy.

The success of the think tank is based on a unique grassroots model with over 120 volunteers who are committed to foraus and share a common goal: to contribute actively to Swiss foreign policy.

The Think Tank foraus distinguishes itself with its participatory model to which collective intelligence is central. The involvement and participation in foraus is open to everyone, with an emphasis on having a diverse network. With the Policy Kitchen innovation platform, foreign policy is also now digitally accessible to all, regardless of their location. The platform is intended to encourage interested individuals in developing concrete proposals for solutions to foreign policy challenges and thus be engaged in society.

foraus is part of the Open Think Tank Network (OpenTTN). The OpenTTN promotes the foundation and development of grassroots think tanks around the world, as well as the cooperation of the network in terms of content. The OpenTTN was created in 2016 out of the “foraus global” initiative, which was founded by foraus.

 

foraus was found in 2009. It is a tax-free organization and is based on a membership system consisting of several hundred members. Within the last 10 years, foraus has evolved into the Swiss foreign policy think tank, with over a dozen employees. 

As an independent think tank and non-profit association, foraus is supported by its members and other private individuals, from charitable foundations to the public and private sector. Additionally, foraus carries out mandates and maintains a carefully built network of partnerships.

Independence: As a non-profit association with a wide range of financial support, foraus autonomously and independently decides and maintains full control over its activities at all times, regardless of the source of funding. The independence and objectivity of its research, publications, and events are always guaranteed.

Transparency: foraus provides open information regarding its financials. The sources of funding are governed by a Code of Conduct and the financial status of the association are presented at the annual general assembly and in the yearly report. The financial statements are audited by an independent auditor.

 

Throughout the years, foraus has been able to build up a supportive network of foundations, private individuals, companies and public institutions. These contributions guarantee high-quality and politically relevant research and allow foraus to further developments in terms of content, methodology, and geography.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all benefactors and partners for their generous donations and support. 

Foundations 2018/2019: Avina Stiftung, Benevolentia, Engagement Migros, Hirschmann-Stiftung, LARIX Foundation, MAVA Stiftung, Mercator Stiftung, Müller–Möhl Foundation, Oak Foundation, Paul Schiller Stiftung, Schweizerische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft (SGG), Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Aussenpolitik (SGA), Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, U.W. Linsi Stiftung, Veronika und Hugo Bohny Stiftung

Public Institutions 2018/2019: Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen (BSV), Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA)

Partners 2018/2019: Asia Society Switzerland, Bahama Yellow, Club Suisse de la Presse (CSP), Bosch Alumni Network, Cercle de la Grande Société de Berne, Diplo Foundation, economiesuisse, Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), Embassy of the United States of America to Switzerland and Liechtenstein, European Think Tanks Group, Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe (Centre de recherches européennes), Fondation suisse d’études, furrerhugi. & Partner, Geneva Hub for Democracy, Geneva Internet Platform, Global Compact, Global Studies Institute (GSI), Impact Hub Bern, Impact Hub Geneva, Impact Hub Zurich, Karl der Grosse, Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement (IHEID), Les Voisins, Le Temps, reatch, Royal Norwegian Embassy in Berne, On Think Tanks, PolitForum Käfigturm, Polito – Fachverein Politikwissenschaft, Public Eye, reatch, stark+vernetzt, Swissnex San Francisco, unternehmen mitte, UN Women, Universität Bern, Universität St. Gallen, Universität Zürich, World Meteorological Organization (WMO), ZHAW School of Management and Law, Wenger & Vieli AG

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Whether you want an overview of all foraus activities or a summary of the most relevant and exciting news articles on foreign policy – our newsletter keeps you informed!

Subscribe

Become a Member

Support your Swiss foreign policy think tank and enjoy the unique advantages and the access to a top-class foreign policy network – national and international!

Register

Donate

In order to continue shaping tomorrow’s foreign policy, we need your help! To strengthen the platform that enables young talents to bring their visions and ideas to foreign policy.

More

Le think tank foraus prône une politique étrangère constructive et un dialogue informé : indépendant, scientifique, pertinent. Avec notre plateforme, nous offrons aux jeunes talents un accès sans restriction au débat afin que leurs idées soient prises en compte en politique étrangère – en dehors du cadre traditionnel des partis politiques. foraus publie des recommandations scientifiquement fondées – sous forme de documents de réflexion, de brèves analyses et de blogs – et organise des débats de haut niveau dans le but de concevoir des solutions innovantes pour la politique étrangère.

Le succès du think tank repose sur un modèle unique en son genre, avec plus de 120 bénévoles qui s’engagent en faveur du foraus et qui ont un objectif commun : contribuer de manière constructive à la politique étrangère suisse. Le réseau de bénévoles est divisé en 11 programmes et 9 groupes régionaux. Ils travaillent sur le contenu et organisent des événements sur les défis de la politique étrangère. Deux bureaux à Zurich et à Genève soutiennent ce réseau.

Le think tank se caractérise par son modèle participatif, dans lequel l’intelligence collective est un point central. Chacun est libre de penser et de participer au sein du foraus, où l’on valorise un réseau aussi diversifié que possible. Grâce à la plateforme d’innovation Policy Kitchen, la politique étrangère est désormais également accessible à tous sous forme numérique, peu importe où vous vous trouvez. La plate-forme vise à encourager les intéressé·e·s à élaborer des propositions concrètes de solutions aux défis de la politique étrangère et à s’engager pour la société.

foraus fait partie de l’Open Think Tank Network (OpenTTN). L’OpenTTN promeut la création et le développement de groupes de réflexion dans le monde entier ainsi que la coopération du réseau en termes de contenu.

L’OpenTTN a été créé en 2016 à la suite de l’initiative « foraus global » du foraus.

 

foraus a été fondé en 2009, est exonéré d’impôts et repose sur un système associatif qui compte plusieurs centaines de membres. Au cours des 10 dernières années, foraus est devenu le think tank sur la politique étrangère de la Suisse et compte une douzaine de collaborateurs.

En tant que think tank indépendant et association à but non lucratif, foraus est soutenu par ses membres et d’autres personnes privées, par des fondations, par le secteur public et le secteur privé. foraus réalise également des mandats et entretient un réseau de partenariats soigneusement construit.

Indépendance: En tant qu’association à but non lucratif bénéficiant d’un large soutien, foraus prend ses décisions de manière autonome et indépendante, et conserve le contrôle total de ses activités à tout moment, quelle que soit sa source de financement. L’indépendance et l’objectivité de la recherche, des publications et des événements sont toujours garanties.

Transparence: foraus fournit des informations transparentes sur son financement. Les sources de financement régies par un code de conduite  et la situation financière de l’association sont présentées à l’Assemblée générale annuelle et dans le rapport annuel. Les comptes de l’année sont contrôlés par un·e réviseur·e indépendant·e.

Au cours des dernières années, foraus a pu constituer un réseau de donateur·rice·s constitué de fondations, de particuliers, d’entreprises et d’institutions publiques. Leurs contributions garantissent un travail de qualité, politiquement pertinent, et permettent au foraus de s’étendre géographiquement mais également de se développer davantage en termes de contenus et de méthodologie.

Nous aimerions profiter de l’occasion pour remercier l’ensemble de nos mécènes et partenaires pour leur généreux soutien.

Fondations 2018/2019: Avina Stiftung, Benevolentia, Engagement Migros, Hirschmann-Stiftung, LARIX Foundation, MAVA Stiftung, Mercator Stiftung, Müller–Möhl Foundation, Oak Foundation, Paul Schiller Stiftung, Schweizerische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft (SGG), Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Aussenpolitik (SGA), Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, U.W. Linsi Stiftung, Veronika und Hugo Bohny Stiftung

Institutions publiques 2018/2019: Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE), Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS)

Partenaires des événements 2018/2019: Asia Society Switzerland, Bahama Yellow, Club Suisse de la Presse (CSP), Bosch Alumni Network, Cercle de la Grande Société de Berne, Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE), Diplo Foundation, economiesuisse, Embassy of the United States of America to Switzerland and Liechtenstein, European Think Tanks Group, Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe (Centre de recherches européennes), Fondation suisse d’études, furrerhugi. & Partner, Geneva Hub for Democracy, Geneva Internet Platform, Global Compact, Global Studies Institute (GSI), Impact Hub Bern, Impact Hub Geneva, Impact Hub Zurich, Karl der Grosse, Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement (IHEID), Les Voisins, Le Temps, reatch, Royal Norwegian Embassy in Berne, On Think Tanks, PolitForum Käfigturm, Polito – Fachverein Politikwissenschaft, Public Eye, reatch, stark+vernetzt, Swissnex San Francisco, unternehmen mitte, UN Women, Universität Bern, Universität St. Gallen, Universität Zürich, World Meteorological Organization (WMO), ZHAW School of Management and Law, Wenger & Vieli AG

Abonne-toi à notre newsletter

Qu’il s’agisse d’un aperçu de toutes les activités du foraus ou des articles de journaux les plus pertinents et les plus passionnants sur des sujets de politique étrangère, avec notre newsletter, tu restes informé·e !

Plus

Devenir membre

Soutiens ton think tank de politique étrangère suisse et bénéficie d’avantages uniques ainsi que d’un accès à un réseau de premier ordre en matière de politique étrangère – au niveau national et international !

Plus

Contributions

Pour continuer à façonner la politique étrangère de demain et renforcer la plateforme qui permet aux jeunes talents d’apporter leurs visions et leurs idées à la politique étrangère, nous avons besoin de ton aide !

Plus