International Digital Health

Health Data Governance: What’s in it for Switzerland?

 

How can we ensure that the potential of new digital health technologies is fully exploited to benefit society, and the younger generations in particular? What are the opportunities, challenges and needs that the digital transformation creates within Switzerland, for global healthcare systems and Geneva as the world’s global health capital? The project «Health Data Governance: What’s in it for Switzerland?» addresses these exact questions around health data governance by engaging youth and relevant actors in Switzerland through innovative formats of stakeholder dialogues.

New digital technologies and AI are on the verge of revolutionizing healthcare nationally and globally. New approaches and tools based on processed health data are changing the way patients are treated and how they interact with healthcare professionals and institutions. Medical and pharmaceutical research and manufacturing is equally heavily impacted. While there is a huge potential, these new technologies also raise legitimate concerns with regards to health data privacy and security.

Technological change has accelerated, but mechanisms for global health data governance have failed to keep pace. The uneven spread of digital and AI capacities across countries and sectors and the fragmentation of data and governance approaches bear the risk to exacerbate existing divides. This governance gap therefore needs to be filled, taking into account the needs of multiple stakeholders within the healthcare systems and society as a whole. 

With the adoption of the Swiss Health Foreign Policy 2019-2024 (Gesundheitsaussenpolitik GAP) in May 2019, the Federal Council recognized the potential of digitization and AI for health. The GAP notably highlights the importance of Geneva as the capital of multilateral cooperation in public health and the need for a global health data governance framework to ensure that digital health technologies help progress towards the goal of equitable access to healthcare for all. The GAP also acknowledges the leading role of Switzerland in medical and pharmaceutical innovation.

Using its unique position as the grassroots platform for foreign policy dialogue in Switzerland, and integrating the Swiss youth into the debate, foraus seeks to bring all relevant stakeholders around the table, leveraging the innovative formats poliTisch and Policy Kitchen.

This project has been funded by Fondation Botnar.

This project is implemented by foraus in partnership with Sensor Advice.

International Digital Health

Health Data Governance: What’s in it for Switzerland?

 

Wie kann das Potential neuer digitaler Gesundheitstechnologien maximal ausgeschöpft werden? Wie kann garantiert werden, dass  die Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen der Bevölkerung und insbesondere der Jugend nützt? Welche Chancen, Herausforderungen und Bedürfnisse schafft die digitale Transformation in der Schweiz, für globale Gesundheitssysteme und Genf als Hauptstadt für die Weltgesundheit? Das Projekt «Health Data Governance: What’s in it for Switzerland?» beschäftigt sich mit diesen Fragen und führt innovative Dialogformate mit der Jugend und relevanten Akteuren in der Schweiz durch.

Neue digitale Technologien und Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) verändern nationale und internationale Gesundheitssysteme grundlegend. Die Behandlung von PatientInnen und die Interaktion von Gesundheitsinstitutionen wandeln sich dank neuen Vorgehensweisen und Instrumenten, die verarbeitete Gesundheitsdaten nutzen. Die medizinische Forschung und Produktion profitiert ebenfalls von neuen digitalen Technologien. Diese bringen jedoch auch legitime Bedenken hinsichtlich  Datensicherheit und ethischer Rahmenbedingungen zur Datennutzung mit sich.

Während der technologische Wandel sich kontinuierlich beschleunigt hat, konnten Mechanismen zur globalen Gouvernanz von Gesundheitsdaten nicht mithalten. Die länder- und sektorenübergreifende, ungleiche Verbreitung digitaler sowie KI-Kapazitäten und die Fragmentierung von Daten und Gouvernanzstrategien riskieren bereits existierende Spaltungen weiter zu steigern. Deswegen muss diese Gouvernanz-Lücke, mit Berücksichtigung der Bedürfnisse verschiedener Akteure im Gesundheitssystem und der Gesellschaft generell, gefüllt werden.

Durch die Verabschiedung der Gesundheitsaussenpolitik der Schweiz 2019-2024 (GAP) im Mai 2019 hat der Bundesrat das Potential von Digitalisierung und KI für das Gesundheitswesen anerkannt. Die GAP unterstreicht insbesondere die Bedeutung von Genf als Hauptstadt multilateraler Kooperation im Bereich Gesundheit und den Bedarf eines globalen Rahmens zur Gouvernanz von Gesundheitsdaten, um zu versichern, dass digitale Technologien dabei helfen, dem Ziel gleichberechtigten Zugangs zu Gesundheitsversorgung auf globaler Ebene näher zu kommen. Die GAP hebt ebenfalls die wichtige Rolle der Schweiz in medizinischer und pharmazeutischer Innovation auf globaler Ebene hervor.

Durch seine einzigartige Dialogplattform zu Aussenpolitik in der Schweiz, sowie den Einbezug der Schweizer Jugend in die Debatte, bringt foraus alle relevanten Akteure zusammen. Dafür werden die Formate poliTisch und Policy Kitchen genutzt.

Dieses Projekt wird von Fondation Botnar finanziert.

Dieses Projekt wird von foraus in Partnerschaft mit Sensor Advice durchgeführt.