Sustainable FinTech

The Sustainable FinTech project was developed by the foraus Environment, Energy & Transport and the Finance programme. Its objective is to support the Swiss financial industry in meeting the climate goals decided in the Paris Agreement at the 2015 UN Climate Change Conference, and to advance the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. Sustainable FinTech serves as a platform and network to enable, encourage and foster innovative sustainable policy, services and product ideas which further these goals.

Premise

Mitigating global warming is one of the most pressing challenges of the 21st century. Increasingly, the financial sector is recognized as an actor of change, and its lending and investing decisions have become central to the climate finance agendas. Switzerland with its important financial industry is in the best position to be a global leader in sustainable finance.

At the same time, digitization changes the way financial institutions do business. Disruptive technologies challenge the status quo and allow to experiment with new innovative business models - the term FinTech (financial technology) has been coined as a focal point of the modern financial industry.

We are convinced that the two challenges form an opportunity: To create a modern, sustainable financial industry.

Project

In 2017, the Sustainable FinTech project successfully ran a series of expert workshops culminating in a climate fintech hackathon and subsequent refinement of the developed products and services. In 2018 and 2019 the project will be scaling up the successful events of the previous year. Over the course of a series of so-called skunk workshops, targeted policy ideas and frameworks will be developed. And in March 2019, we collaborate with F10 to place a sustainable fintech challenge at the big F10 Hackathon in Zurich.

For more information or if you are interested in getting involved, visit the project website at sustainablefintech.ch, get in touch with the team at hello@sustainablefintech.ch or meet us at one of our upcoming events.

Find out about other topics in the foraus Environment, Energy and Transport programme here.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Core Team


Fabian Steiner

Anna Stünzi

Rebekka Thur

Project Manager

rebekka.thur@foraus.ch

Sustainable FinTech

Sustainable FinTech ist ein Projekt, welches gemeinsam von den zwei foraus-Programmen «Umwelt, Energie und Verkehr» sowie «Finanzplatz» entwickelt wurde. Ziele sind einerseits, die Schweizer Finanzindustrie bei der Erreichung der Klimaziele von Paris (UN-Klimakonferenz 2015) zu unterstützen und andererseits die Umsetzung der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals) voranzutreiben. Sustainable FinTech dient als Plattform und Netzwerk, um nachhaltige Richtlinien sowie innovative Dienstleistungen und Produktideen zu erarbeiten, die diese Ziele fördern.

Voraussetzungen

Die globale Erwärmung ist eine der dringendsten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Finanzsektor wird zunehmend als wichtiger Akteur im Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel anerkannt, und seine Kredit- und Investitionsentscheidungen sind eng mit Agenda der Klimafinanzierung verknüpft. Die Bedeutung der Finanzindustrie in der Schweiz verschafft unserem Land eine perfekte Ausgangslage, um eine globale Führungsrolle in der nachhaltigen Finanzwirtschaft zu übernehmen.

Gleichzeitig verändert die Digitalisierung die Art und Weise, wie Finanzinstitute Geschäfte tätigen. Disruptive Technologien stellen den Status quo in Frage und ermöglichen das Experimentieren mit neuen innovativen Geschäftsmodellen. Entsprechend setzt sich der Schlüsselbegriff moderner Finanzindustrie (FinTech) aus den beiden Bereichen Finanz und Technologie zusammen.

Projekt

Im Jahr 2017 führte das Projekt Sustainable FinTech erfolgreich eine Reihe von Expertenworkshops durch, die mit einem Klima-Fintech-Hackathon und der anschließenden Verfeinerung der entwickelten Produkte und Dienstleistungen abschlossen. Im 2018 und 2019 baut Sustainable FinTech die erfolgreichen Veranstaltungen des Vorjahres weiter aus. Im Rahmen einer Reihe von so genannten Skunk-Workshops werden Konzepte und Handlungsempfehlungen für die Politik entwickelt. Für den F10 FinTech Hackathon in Zürich im März 2019 bereiten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit dem FinTech Incubator and Accelerator F10 eine Challenge vor, die Nachhaltigkeit in der Finanzbranche zum Inhalt hat.

Weitere Informationen findest du auf unserer Projektwebsite unter sustainablefintech.ch. Falls du Fragen hast oder dich engagieren möchtest, erreichst du uns unter hello@sustainablefintech.ch oder du triffst uns bei einer unserer nächsten Veranstaltungen.

Wir freuen uns darauf, von dir zu hören!

Weitere Themen aus dem Programm foraus Umwelt, Energie und Verkehr finden du hier.

 

Core Team

Fabian Steiner

Anna Stünzi

Project Lead

anna.stuenzi@foraus.ch 

 

Rebekka Thur

Project Manager

rebekka.thur@foraus.ch