Open Think Tank Network

The « Open Think Tank Network » (OpenTTN) is an international network that strives for the creation, development and cooperation of open think tanks around the world. The member think tanks are committed to developing constructive, coherent and future-oriented policy solutions with the objective of fostering a culture of open debate around highly relevant issues in international affairs. They are based on a non-partisan and grassroots approach, putting the inclusion of a wide range of actors at the centre of their work. 

The network is committed to creating the think tanks of the future by using new technological means of participation, such as online crowdsourcing and knowledge-sharing. In so doing, we empower bright minds all over the globe to create and develop new policy ideas and come up with solutions for the most important transnational challenges of the present day.

The network currently consists of Polis180 in Germany, Agora in England, Ponto in Austria and foraus in Switzerland. The network is officially represented by a board of directors since June 2021, and its formal headquarters are based in Geneva. 

 

 

A forum marking the official launch of the OpenTTN took place in Geneva in November 2021. Over the course of three days, participants from across Europe discussed foreign policy issues with high-level experts and speakers in a participatory format.

 

Participants had the opportunity to celebrate the completion of the OpenTTN joint publication on feminist foreign policy. The launch event was attended by:

  • Marie-Claire Graf, YOUNGO Global Focal Point to the UNFCCC (online)
  • Amb. Thomas Greminger, Director of the Geneva Center for Security Policy
  • Shirin Heidari, Founder of Gendro and Senior Consultant in the Gender, Equity and Human Rights Team, WHO
  • Tamara Mawhinney, Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations in Geneva
  • Maria Sokolova, TradeExperettes

During the following working group sessions, participants not only reflected on the internal structure of the OpenTTN, but also analyzed the main foreign policy trends and proposed projects for collaboration between the different think tanks.

 

The weekend was filled with encounters, exchanges and new ideas to bring the OpenTTN to ever greater heights!

 

 

 

Introducing the Purple Age: Crowdsourced recommendations for a Feminist Foreign Policy

 

This report presents the output of a transnational participatory process – Policy Kitchen – organized and implemented by the Open Think Tank Network and dedicated to the question: What should a feminist foreign policy look like in the 2020s? This bottom-up process with over 200 participants from five continents has generated a wealth of relevant policy recommendations for decision-makers in international affairs. The recommendations for a comprehensive feminist foreign policy (FFP) are presented in five thematic chapters, which emerged during the process:

  • Intersectionality and Representation
  • Health, Safety and Autonomy
  • Environment and Climate Change
  • Peace and Security
  • The Economic Sphere

Read the publication

 

Would you like to know more about our network or work with us on the further development of OpenTTN? Are you a member of a think tank and would like to become part of an international network? Then visit the OpenTTN’s website or contact luca.brunner@foraus.ch.

Open Think Tank Network

Das „Open Think Tank Network“ (OpenTTN) ist ein internationales Netzwerk, das die Schaffung, Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit von Think Tanks auf der ganzen Welt anstrebt. Die Mitglieder des Netzwerks engagieren sich für die Entwicklung konstruktiver, kohärenter und zukunftsorientierter politischer Lösungen mit dem Ziel, eine Kultur der offenen Debatte über hochrelevante aussenpolitische Themen zu fördern. Das OpenTTN baut auf einem überparteilichen und basisdemokratischen Ansatz auf, der das breite Spektrum von Akteuren einbezieht und in den Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit stellt. 

Das Netzwerk setzt sich dafür ein, Think Tanks der Zukunft zu kreieren, indem es neue technologische Mittel der Partizipation nutzt, wie z.B. Online-Crowdsourcing und den Wissensaustausch. Auf diese Weise befähigen wir kluge Köpfe auf der ganzen Welt, neue politische Ideen zu entwickeln und Lösungen für die wichtigsten transnationalen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart zu finden.

Das Netzwerk besteht derzeit aus Polis180 in Deutschland, Agora in England, Ponto in Österreich und foraus in der Schweiz. Das Netzwerk wird seit Juni 2021 offiziell durch einen Vorstand vertreten, der formale Sitz ist in Genf. 

 

 

 

Im November 2021 fand in Genf ein Forum statt, das den offiziellen Start des OpenTTN markierte. Drei Tage lang kamen Teilnehmende aus ganz Europa zusammen, um in einem partizipativen Format mit hochrangigen ExpertInnen und RednerInnen über aussenpolitische Fragen zu diskutieren.

 

Die Teilnehmenden hatten die Gelegenheit, den Erfolg der gemeinsamen Veröffentlichung des OpenTTN über feministische Aussenpolitik zu feiern. An der Eröffnungsveranstaltung nahmen teil:

  • Marie-Claire Graf, YOUNGO Global Focal Point für die UNFCCC
  • Botschafter Thomas Greminger, Leiter des Genfer Zentrums für Sicherheitspolitik
  • Shirin Heidari, Gründerin von Gendro und Senior Consultant im Gender, Equity and Human Rights Team der WHO
  • Tamara Mawhinney, stellvertretende Ständige Vertreterin Kanadas bei den Vereinten Nationen in Genf
  • Maria Sokolova, TradeExperettes

Während den anschliessenden Sitzungen am Wochenende, machten sich die Teilnehmenden nicht nur Gedanken über die interne Struktur des OpenTTN, sondern analysierten auch die wichtigsten aussenpolitischen Trends und überlegten sich neue Projekte für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Think Tanks.

 

Das Wochenende war voller Begegnungen, Austausch und neuer Ideen, um das OpenTTN zu immer neueren und grösseren Erfolgen zu führen!

 

 

 

 

Introducing the Purple Age: Crowdsourced recommendations for a Feminist Foreign Policy

 

Diese Publikation stellt das Ergebnis eines transnationalen partizipativen Prozesses – Policy Kitchen – vor, der vom Open Think Tank Network organisiert und durchgeführt wurde. Dieser widmete sich der Frage: Wie sollte eine feministische Aussenpolitik in den 2020er Jahren aussehen? Dieser Bottom-up-Prozess mit über 200 TeilnehmerInnen aus fünf Kontinenten hat eine Fülle von relevanten Handlungsempfehlungen für EntscheidungsträgerInnen hervorgebracht. Die Empfehlungen für eine umfassende feministische Aussenpolitik (FFP) werden in fünf thematischen Kapiteln vorgestellt, die im Laufe des Prozesses entstanden sind:

 

  • Intersektionalität und Repräsentation
  • Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Autonomie
  • Umwelt und Klimawandel
  • Frieden und Sicherheit
  • Wirtschaft

Lies die Publikation

 

Möchtest du mehr über unser Netzwerk wissen oder gemeinsam mit uns an der Weiterentwicklung des OpenTTN arbeiten? Denkst du darüber nach, einen eigenen Grassroots-Think Tank zu gründen? Oder bist du bereits Mitglied eines Think Tanks und möchtest Teil eines internationalen Netzwerks werden? Dann melde dich bei  luca.brunner@foraus.ch.